Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice

2009 Legislation Tracking Report :  All Criminal Justice Legislation

Positions Committees
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S/C = Support in Concept USC = Utah Sentencing Commission

OPP = Oppose USAAYV = Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence Coordinating Council
N/P = No Position LELC = Law Enforcement Legislative Committee

HOLD = Hold for Further Review UCV=Utah Council on Victims of Crime
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* = Not Yet Approved by the Full Committee
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Bill Number Title/Sponsor/Summary Positions
HB0012 County Sheriff Qualification Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Richard Greenwood Party: R ) SUP SUP

[GOV Signed 2.18.09][Sen. Jenkins] Provides new certification requirements for county sheriffs elected after the 2008 regular general election. Requires a
person filing a declaration of candidacy for county sheriff to submit a certificate issued by the Peace Officer Standards and Training Division stating that the
candidate (1) has successfully met the standards and training requirements established for law enforcement officers in Title 53, Chapter 6, Part 2, Peace
Officer Training and Certification Act; and (2) has qualified to be certified as a law enforcement officer, as defined in Section 53-13-103. Requires an elected
county sheriff to be certified at the time of taking office as: (1) a correctional officer, as defined in Section 53-13-104; or (2) a correctional facility manager by
having completed a correctional facility management course approved by the POST Council. Requires a county sheriff to remain certified as a law
enforcement officer and as a correctional officer or correctional facility manager during the sheriff's term of office. [FN: Will not require additional
appropriations.]

HB0013 Crime of Strangulation or Smothering CCJJ UsSC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Jennifer Seelig Party: D ) SUP SUP - SUP PRI SUP

Amends the offense of aggravated assault to include the offenses of intentionally impeding a person's circulation by applying pressure to a person's neck or
throat or impeding a person's normal breathing. Provides that these offenses of strangulation or smothering are third degree felonies. (NEW third degree.)
[FN: Will require Gen. Fund approp. to DOC of $58,100 in FY10 and $116,300 each year thereafter.]
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HB0014 Material Harmful to Minors Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Sheryl Allen Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP PRI

[GOV signed 3.30.09] [Sen. Bell] Provides the following penalties for minors that distribute pornographic material or deal in material harmful to a minor: (1)
persons 16 or 17 years of age are guilty of a class A misdemeanor; and (2) persons younger than 16 years of age are guilty of a class B misdemeanor.
Provides that a person 18 years of age or older who solicits a person younger than 18 to distribute pornographic material or deal in material harmful to a
minor is guilty of a third degree felony and is subject to specified penalties. Provides that if a person younger than 18 years of age has previously committed
the offense of dealing in material harmful to minors, the person is guilty of a third degree felony for each subsequent offense. (DEC third degree to a class A
misdemeanor for a person 16 or 17; DEC third degree to a class B misdemeanor for a person younger than 16.) [FN: Will not require additional
appropriations.]

HB0021 Amendments to Driver License Sanction Requirements CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCcv UBJJ
( Richard Greenwood Party: R ) SUP SUP PRI SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Sen. Greiner] Provides that the requirement that the reinstatement of a person's license for a person under 21 years of age operating
a vehicle with a detectable amount of alcohol in the person's body is contingent upon the person's completion of an action recommended by a local
substance abuse authority or substance abuse program is only applicable within five years after the effective date of the license sanction. [FN: Will not
require additional appropriations.]

HB0022 Harboring a Runaway CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCVv UBJJ
( Lorie Fowlke Party: R ) SuUP SUP - SUP

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Sen. Bramble] [AMENDED] Provides that a person who harbors a minor who is a runaway must provide notice to the parent or legal
guardian of the minor, A YOUTH SERVICES CENTER, the Division of Child and Family Services, or, under certain circumstances, a peace officer or a
detention center, within eight hours from the later of the time that the person begins providing the shelter or the time that the person becomes aware that the
minor is a runaway. Provides an affirmative defense to the crime of harboring a runaway if the person fails to provide the required notice due to
circumstances beyond the control of the person. Provides that an individual or a temporary homeless youth shelter may continue to provide shelter to a
runaway after providing the notice required by this bill if the parent or legal guardian of the minor consents to the continued provision of shelter or if the
person notified fails to retrieve the runaway. Clarifies that this bill does not prohibit an individual, a temporary homeless shelter, or a government agency from
providing shelter to an abandoned minor. Clarifies that this bill does not release a person from the obligation to report abuse or neglect of a child. [FN: Will
not require additional State appropriations. The bill creates a class B misdemeanor which would be filed in local justice courts. Courts expect few filings and
related costs would be covered by fines.]

HB0025 Gun Dealer Penalty Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Curtis Oda Party: R ) SUP SUP  --- SUP SUP -

[GOV signed 3.20.09][Sen. Madsen] Makes it a class A misdemeanor for a violation of the criminal background check provisions in Section 76-10-526 by a
licensed handgun dealer. (NEW class A misdemeanor.) [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]

Page: 30 http://www.justice.utah.gov
3/31/2009



Bill Number Title/Sponsor/Summary Positions

HB0026 Child and Vulnerable Adult Endangerment Provisions CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Michael Morley Party: R ) SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Sen. Madsen] Provides that a person who knowingly or intentionally causes or permits a child or a vulnerable adult to be exposed to,
inhale, ingest, or have contact with a controlled substance, chemical substance, or drug paraphernalia is: (1) guilty of a third degree felony; (2) guilty of a
second degree felony, if, as a result of the conduct described above, a child or vulnerable adult suffers bodily injury, substantial bodily injury, or serious bodily
injury; or (3) guilty of a first degree felony, if, as a result of the conduct described above, a child or vulnerable adult dies. Provides an affirmative defense to
the crime described above, if the controlled substance is obtained by lawful prescription and is used or possessed in accordance with the prescription
instructions. Provides that the penalties described in this bill are separate from, and in addition to, the penalties and enhancements described in Title 58,
Occupations and Professions. (NEW first degree, second degree, and third degree felonies.) [FN: Will require appropriations from the Gen. Fund in FY10
and FY11 to DOC of $29,100 and to the Board of Pardons $600 for increased incarceration and workload costs each year. Beginning in FY12, will require
ongoing Gen. Fund of $58,100 to DOC and $1,200 to Board of Pardons.]

HB0029 Sex Offenders' Contact with Children CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Richard Greenwood Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Sen. Okerlund] Provides a class A misdemeanor for any sex offender whose offense was against a child to request or solicit a child
younger than 14 to accompany the sex offender for any purpose unless: (1) the sex offender has in possession written permission from the child's parent or
guardian authorizing the offender to accompany the child; (2) the child's parent or guardian has given verbal permission and both the child and the sex
offender are in the child's home or on the property appurtenant to the child's home; or (3) the child is the natural child of the sex offender, and the offender is
not prohibited by any court order, or porbation or parole provision from contact with the child. Prohibits a defense of not knowing the actual age of the child.
Extends the offender's period of registration as a sex offender for five years for violation of this provision. Provisions do not apply if a sex offender is acting to
rescue a child who is in an emergency or life-threatening situation. (NEW class A misdemeanor.) [FN: Will create a net ongoing Gen. Fund impact of $7,500
in workload costs to courts - $25,000 of ongoing Gen. Fund appropriations and Gen. Fund revenues of approximately $17,500. Will increase dedicated
credits revenue and expenditures at DOC by $10,000 each year beginning FY10 until FY14 when they will remain constant at $50,000 per year. May impact
local enforcement agencies, however the impact is unquantifiable at this time.]

HB0032 Amendments to Agency Rulemaking Regarding Criminal Penalties CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCv UBJJ
( Ben Ferry Party: R ) N/P SUP - SuUp — -

[GOV signed 3.30.09] [Sen. Stephenson] Repeals certain statutory grants of administration rulemaking authority to the Dept. of Health, Dept. of Insurance,
the Labor Commission, and the Dept. of Natural Resources that determine what conduct constitutes a criminal penalty. (Decreases class C misdemeanor to
infraction for violation of any rule or proclamation of the Wildlife Board.) [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]
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HBO0036 Criminal Offense Elements and Penalties CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Carl Wimmer Party: R ) SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP

Amends the offense of aggravated assault to provide that the infliction of serious bodily injury is a second degree felony, including if the injury is not caused
intentionally. Amends the penalty for the offense of a driver's failure to stop at the direction of a peace officer to provide that a second or subsequent offense
is a second degree felony, and the offense is also subject to a fine of not less than $5,000. Amends the penalties for the offense of felony discharge of a
firearm by: (1) increasing the penalty for specified discharge offenses from a third degree felony to a second degree felony; and (2) increasing the possible
imprisonment from not more than five years to not more than 15 years. Increases the possible imprisonment for discharge of a firearm causing injury from
not less than three years to not less than five years, but does not amend the current limitation of not more than 15 years. Amends the offense of felony
discharge of a firearm to include situations that constitute criminal homicide or attempted criminal homicide. (NEW second degree felony; INC third degree to
second degree felony.)

HB0037 Violent Offenses Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Jennifer Seelig Party: D ) SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Sen. Greiner] Amends the enhanced penalty for committing a first degree felony with other persons by imposing five more years
imprisonment in addition to the statutory minimum term of imprisonment for the felony. Amends the elements of aggravated murder to include felony
discharge of a firearm. Amends the definition of predicate gang offenses that constitute criminal gang activity in defined circumstances to include retail theft.
Adds the offense of retail theft to the offenses subject to an enhanced penalty if committed with two or more persons. Amends the offense of felony
discharge of a firearm to include situations that constitute criminal homicide or attempted criminal homicide. (ADDS five years to first degree felony.) [FN:
Will not require additional appropriations at least in the first four years of implementation. There may be an impact to DOC and the Board of Pardons
beginning in FY14, another in FY15, and FY23, however the impact is unquantifiable at this time.]

HB0041 Sex Offender Registration Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Kenneth Sumsion Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP -

[GOV signed 3.23.09] [Sen. Greiner] Provides that sex and kidnap offenders required to register with the Department of Corrections will register instead with
the local law enforcement agency if the offender is no longer under the supervision of the Department of Corrections. Requires that the staff of the local law
enforcement agency that will be conducting the offender registration shall receive initial and annual training from DOC. Requires that DOC notify local law
enforcement agencies of an offender's change of residence within five days of receiving the information regarding the change. [FN: will not require additional
appropriations.]

HB0047 Criminal Procedure - Investigation Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Paul Ray Party: R ) SUP - SUP  SUP -

[GOV signed 2.18.09][Sen. Liljenquist] Adds municipal attorneys to the definition of prosecutor for investigations within the Code of Criminal Procedure. [FN:
Will not require additional appropriations.]
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HB0059S02 Subpoenas for Records in Certain Criminal Investigations CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCvVv UBJJ
( Bradley Daw Party: R ) SUP SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Sen. Valentine] Allows prosecutors to issue subpoenas regarding Internet information related to the investigation of a sexual offense
against a minor. Specifies the information that can be subpoenaed. Allows the provider to charge a reasonable fee for providing the information. Requires
that the provider that receives the subpoena may not notify the account holder who is the subject of the subpoena.

HBO0072 Children's Justice Center Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Lorie Fowlke Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Sen. Bramble] Changes the appointing authority from the governor to the attorney general for six members of the Advisory Board on
Children's Justice. Adds licensed health professional to the board. Removes the chairs of local Children's Justice Center boards from the board. [FN: Will
not require additional appropriations.]

HB0087 Identity Theft Amendment CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
(' Julie Fisher Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Sen. Greiner] Clarifies that the offense of identity fraud may include use of the fraud to obtain employment. [FN: Will not require
additional appropriations.]

HB0090S01 Abortion Law Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Paul Ray Party: R ) N/P NP -

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Sen. Bramble] Removes an unconstitutional provision requiring that all abortions performed 90 days or more after the commencement
of a pregnancy be performed in a hospital. Defines the term "viable." Provides that an abortion may only be performed in this state if: (1) the unborn child is
not viable; or (2) the unborn child is viable, if the abortion is necessary to avert the death of the woman on whom the abortion is performed, the abortion is
necessary to avert a serious risk of substantial and irreversible impairment of a major bodily function of the woman, two physicians who practice maternal
fetal medicine concur, in writing, that the fetus has a defect that is uniformly diagnosable and uniformly lethal, or the woman is pregnant as a result of rape,
rape of a child, or incest. Provides that a violation of the provisions in the preceding paragraph constitute the second degree felony offense of "killing an
unborn child." Provides that a woman who seeks to have, or obtains, an abortion for herself is not criminally liable. Enacts an uncodified severability clause.
[FN: will not require additional appropriations.]

HB0095S02 Restrictions on Use of Wireless Communication Devices in Vehicles CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Phil Riesen Party: D ) SUP SUP  --- SUP SUP

Prohibits a person from using a wireless communication device while operating a moving motor vehicle on a highway in this state. Provides exceptions
(including law enforcement) to the wireless communication device prohibition. Provides that it is a class C misdemeanor for violating the wireless
communication device prohibition. Provides that enforcement for a violation of the prohibition on using a wireless communication device while operating a
moving motor vehicle shall only be as a secondary action when the vehicle has been detained for a suspected violation of certain offenses. [FN: will require
$4,000 per year from the Gen. Fund appropriated to the Courts beginning in FY10. The bill will also generate $5,200 per year in new Gen. Fund revenue
beginning in FY10, for a net Gen. Fund increase of $1,200 per year.]
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HB0097 Sexual Exploitation of a Minor CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Ron Bigelow Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Sen. Buttars] [AMENDED] Amends the offense of sexual exploitation of a minor to include the act of viewing; AND provides that
entities, their employees, and law enforcement officers who are acting in good faith to investigate, monitor for, or report child pornography are not considered
to have violated any civil or criminal provision regarding sexual exploitation of a minor. [FN: May require additional appropriations depending on the number
of convictions in a given year. While the number of convictions in a given year cannot be determined at this time, the state costs of one additional offender to
the criminal justice system as a reuslt of enactment is $30,200 of state funds in FY10 and $29,700 in each year thereafter.]

HB0100S02 Department of Corrections - Tracking and Reimbursement of Individu CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UcCv UBJJ
( Carl Wimmer Party: R ) SUP S/IC SUP SUP -

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Sen. Bramble] AMEND REQUIRES the Utah Department of Corrections to jointly develop and implement a recidivism reduction plan
with the State Board of Education. Requires the department to make a report to the Education and Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Interim
Committees on the recidivism reduction plan before October 1, 2010. Provides a specified copayment by an inmate receiving hospital, medical, dental, and
prescription medication services through the department. Requires an inmate with assets exceeding $200,000 to pay for the inmate's medical and dental
care and provides a cap for the costs. Specifies that the department provides medical treatment if an inmate is unable to pay for the treatment because of
inadequate financial resources. Requires an inmate participating in postsecondary education through the department to pay or reimburse the department for
50% of the costs of tuition. Requires the department to coordinate a deferred postsecondary education tuition repayment program with the Office of State
Debt Collection to provide a participating inmate: a reasonable time frame to make payments, beginning no later than two years after termination of the
inmate's parole; and a reasonable payment amount to allow an inmate to reimburse the tuition obligation incurred while under the supervision of the
department. Provides that tuition costs not paid by the inmate at the time of participating in postsecondary education will be paid from the Prison Telephone
Surcharge Account. Provides that of the amounts collected by the Office of State Debt Collection: 10% may be used by the Office of State Debt Collection for
purposes of operating the deferred payment program; and all other funds collected as repayment for postsecondary tuition costs will be deposited into the
Prison Telephone Surcharge Account to be used by the department for education and training programs for inmates. Directs that ongoing funds provided to
the State Board of Regent's Prison Recidivism Program in fiscal year 2009-10 shall be transferred to the Prison Telephone Surcharge Account for the
purpose of inmate postsecondary education and training. Requires the department to turn over to the Office of State Debt Collection any unpaid tuition debt
at the time the offender is released from parole. Specifies that only inmates lawfully present in the United States may participate in the postsecondary
educational program offered through the department. [FN: Requires no additional appropriations.]

HB0102 False Vehicle Title and Registration Penalties CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UcCvVv UBJJ
( Paul Ray Party: R ) SUP  SUP - SUP - SUP

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Sen. Liljenquist] Provides that it is a third degree felony, rather than a second degree felony, for providing false evidences for certain
motor vehicle title or registration information. [FN: Enactment of this bill could decrease revenue to the Gen. Fund by $3,600 annually.]

HB0104 Driver License Hearing Amendments CCJJ UsC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Richard Greenwood Party: R ) SUP PRI SUP

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Sen. Hinkins] Provides that certain Driver License Division hearings may be held in a county that is adjacent to the county in which the
arrest occurred rather than just being held in the county in which the arrest occurred.

Page: 30 http://www.justice.utah.gov
3/31/2009



Bill Number Title/Sponsor/Summary Positions

HB0106 Controlled Substance Database Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Bradley Daw Party: R) SUP SUP PRI SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Sen. Bramble] Expands the purposes for which a practitioner or pharmacist may access information on the controlled substance
database (the "database"). Grants access to the database to a mental health therapist under certain circumstances. Permits a practitioner to designate up to
three employees, subject to approval by the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing ("Division"), who can access the database on the
petitioner's behalf. Provides that a practitioner, or an employee of the practitioner, who obtains information from the database may include the information in
the patient's medical chart or file and may provide the information to others in accordance with the requirements of the Health Insurance Portability and
Accountability Act of 1996. Grants rulemaking authority to the Division. Permits the Division to impose a fee on practitioners who designate an employee to
access the database, in order to recover the cost of determining whether the employee is a security risk. Provides that a person who is a licensed practitioner
or a mental health therapist shall be denied access to the database when the person is no longer licensed. Provides that a person who is a relative of a
deceased individual is not entitled to access information from the database relating to the deceased individual based on the fact or claim that the person is
related to, or subrogated to the rights of, the deceased individual. [FN: Will require a one-time appropriation of $5,000 from the Commerce Service Fund in
order to reprogram the Controlled Substance Database.]

HB0109 Modifications to Campaign Finance Provisions CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Kraig Powell Party: R ) HOLD HOLD -

Changes the definition of "political purposes."” Imposes contribution limits on state office candidates and legislative office candidates. Imposes a criminal
penalty for a violation of the contribution limit. Requires legislative office candidates to limit the use of campaign funds to expenditures for political purposes.
Removes inconsistent definitions of "political purposes.” [NEW class B misdemeanor.] [FN: Will not rquire additional appropriations. State office candidates
will be impacted with a $15,000 campaign contribution limit per person; state senate candidates with a $500 limit per person; and state house of
representatives a $200 limit per person.]

HB0110S01 Financial Transaction Card Offenses CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Julie Fisher Party: R) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Sen. Bell] Clarifies the definition of card holder. Revises language to provide that the offense of: (1) unlawful use of a financial
transaction card to obtain goods or services involves acting knowingly and with the intent to defraud; (2) unlawful use of a financial transaction card to
exceed authorized credit involves acting knowingly and with the intent to defraud; and (3) applying for a financial transaction card and providing a false
statement or report of required information in the application process involves acting knowingly and with the intent to defraud. Repeals cetain provisions that
have been addressed by amendments or are no longer applicable to the enforcement of these financial transaction offenses.

HB0118 Archives and Grama Revisions CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Douglas Aagard Party: R ) SUP SUP -

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Sen. Goodfellow] Adds a title section for the Archives and Records Service chapter. Modifies language to comply with standardized
definitions. Provides that intentional and knowing destruction or mutilation of the record-copy of a record in violation of a retention schedule is a class B
misdemeanor. Provides cross references. Clarifies that an employee of a governmental entity may be disciplined or fired for intentionally and knowingly
destroying or mutilating a record in violation of a retention schedule. [FN: will not require additional appropriations.]
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HB0122 Government Records Access and Management Act Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCvVv UBJJ
( Douglas Aagard Party: R ) SUP PRI SUP -

[Sen. Bramble] Clarifies that records may be classified as protected if they are prepared in anticipation of litigation. Clarifies that work product records may be
classified as protected if the record involves anticipated or pending litigation. Provides that records concerning a governmental entity's strategy may be
classified as protected if the record is prepared for anticipated litigation, rather than only for pending litigation. Prohibits a governmental entity's chief
administrative officer, the records committe, and a court from releasing certain protected records via means of a balancing test.

HB0123 Retail and Library Theft Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Francis Gibson Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Sen. Hinkins] Deletes the provision of the Criminal Code that allows photographs of merchandise and library materials to be used as
evidence in theft prosecutions if the items themselves had been introduced as evidence. [FN: will not require additional appropriations.]

HB0128 Electronic Prescribing Act CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Ronda Menlove Party: R ) SUP SUP NP -

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Sen. Knudson] Requires a practitioner to provide each existing patient of the practitioner with the option to participate in electronic
prescribing. Provides that a practitioner may not issue a prescription through electronic prescribing for a drug or device that the practitioner is prohibited by
federal law or federal rule from issuing through electronic prescribing. Requires a pharmacy to accept and comply with an electronic prescription that is
transmitted in accordance with the requirements of this section and rules made by the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing. Grants
rulemaking authority to DOPL to: enforce the provisions of this bill; ensure that electronic prescribing is done in a secure manner consistent with industry
standards; ensure that each patient is fully informed of the patient's rights, restrictions, and obligations pertaining to electronic prescribing grant a hardship
exemption to a pharmacy or a practitioner to the extent that the requirements of this bill would impose an extreme financial hardship on the pharmacy or the
practitioner. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations. Individuals may be impacted due to increased costs that may be passed on to the consumer.]

HB0129 Alcoholic Beverage Amendments Related to Minors CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Curtis Oda Party: R ) S/IC S/IC SUP SUP S/IC S/IC

[GOV signed 3.30.09] [Sen. Davis] Modifies penalties for violations related to proof of age. Modifies penalties related to suspension of driving privileges of a
minor. Makes a minor, or in certain circumstances, a parent or guardian of a minor, liable to a retail licensee for a portion of monetary penalties imposed on a
retail licensee for a violation related to a minor. [FN: Will require a one-time appropriation from the Transportation Restricted of $3,000 in FY10, which could
be handled within existing budget constraints. Additional revenue may be generated form reinstated licenses.]

HB0130 Asset Preservation Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Gregory Hughes Party: R ) SUP SUP - PRI SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Sen. Dayton] Amends the judicial process for preserving assets in a prosecution, when it appears likely that the assets may otherwise
be disposed of prior to conviction and an order of restitution, by: (1) removing the provisions that limits an order preserving assets to 90 days; and (2)
allowing the court to base its finding of probable cause to take action to preserve assets upon reliable hearsay. [FN: will not require additional appropriations.]
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HB0132S01 Sexual Assault Victim Protocols CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Jackie Biskupski Party: D ) SIC SUP  ---

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Sen Valentine] Requires a designated facility to provide to a victim of sexual assault with: information regarding emergency
contraception; and emergency contraception, upon request by the victim. Requires a designated facility to maintain a protocol, prepared by a physician, for
the administration of emergency contraception at the designated facility to a victim of sexual assault; and develop and implement a written policy to ensure
that a person is present at the facility, or on-call, who has authority and training to comply with the requirements of this bill. Requires a physician who is not at
a designated facility to: provide a victim of sexual assault with information regarding emergency contraception; and provide the victim of sexual assault with
emergency contraception, upon her request, or inform her of the nearest location where she may obtain emergency contraception. Grants rulemaking
authority to the Depart. of Health. Provides for the enforcement of the provisions of this hill by the Dept. of Health. [FN: Will not require additional
appropriations. Some freestanding urgent care centers and general acute hospitals will need to purchase and maintain $600 in certain drugs to comply with
this legislation.]

HB0136S01 Sex Offender Definition Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Paul Ray Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.30.09] [Sen. Buttars] Adds lewdness and sexual battery as offenses for which a convicted person must register as a sex offender, if the
person is convicted of either offense four or more times. Provides that if a person is convicted a total of four times of the offenses lewdness and sexual
battery, the person must register as a sex offender. Increases the penalty for lewdness from a class B misdemeanor to a class A misdemeanor if the
offender has been convicted two times before of lewdness or lewdness involving a child. Increases the penatly for lewdness from a class A misdemeanor to
a third degree felony if the offender has been convicted three times before of lewdness or lewdness involving a child. Increases the penalty for lewdness
involving a child if the offender has been convicted once before of lewdness involving a child.

HB0138 Expungement of Records Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCVv UBJJ
( Julie Fisher Party: R ) SUP SUP  --- SUP SUP -

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Sen. Bell] Requires the division to issue an expedited certificate of eligibility to a petitioner who has been acquitted of a crime at trial.
Allows the state to petition the court to open expunged records, upon a showing of good cause, and allows relevant records previously expunged to be used
in an investigation and trial of the new charges. [FN: Will note require additional appropriations.]

HB0139 Legislator Gift Reporting Act CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Stephen Clark Party: R ) N/P NP

Enacts the Legislator Gift Reporting Act to require certain reporting of gifts by legislators. Provides that failure to file a gift report is a class B misdemeanor.
[FN: Would require adjustments to the current data program in the Lt. Governor's Office. Current programming costs are $70 per hour. It is unknown at this
time how many hours of programming would be required to enact requirements of this bill. The bill also requires the Lt. Governor to send a copy of each
legislator's gift report annually to each registered voter household in each legislator's district. Mailing costs are estimated to be $332,900 annually from the
Gen. Fund.]
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HB0145S01 Workplace Drug Testing Programs CCJJ UsSC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Trisha Beck Party: D ) N/P SuUpP

[Sen. Christensen] Addresses procedures related to confirmation of tests.

HB0148S04  Victim Rights Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( R. Webb Party: R ) SUP  SUP - PRI SUP

[GOV signed 3.23.09] [Sen. Christensen] Empowers the trial judge hearing a criminal case to give the victim an appropriate remedy for a violation of a
victim's rights. [FN: Will require an ongoing appropriation of $7,500 from the Gen. Fund to the courts of judicial workload increases.]

HB0151S01 Motor Vehicle Forfeiture Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Christopher Herrod Party: R ) SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Sen Killpack] Provides that a motor vehicle is subject to criminal or civil forfeiture upon a finding by the court that: (1) the motor vehicle
was used in a violation of certain driving under the influence provisions; (2) the operator of the vehicle has previously been convicted of a felony DUI violation
or automobile homicide; and (3) the operator of the motor vehicle was driving on a denied, suspended, revoked, or disqualified license due to a violation of
certain DUI provisions.

HBO0153 Trespass Law Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( John Mathis Party: R ) OPP OPP - N/P

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Sen. Stowell] [AMEND] Creates the offense of criminal trespass (class B misdemeanor) on agricultural or range lands. Describes the
requirements necessary in order for a person to enter these lands lawfully. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations. Could result in civil penalties for
individuals found guilty of trespassing on agricultural or range land. Property owners may benefit from receipt of civil penalties. Local justice courts may see a
slight incrase in caseloads.]

HB0159 Ethics Provisions CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Sheryl Allen Party: R ) HOLD HOLD -- HOLD

Establishes a legislative code of conduct, and provides criminal penalties for its violation (class B misdemeanor). Creates the Legislative Ethics Commission.
Provides for membership and other requirements for the commission. Prescribes the commission's duties. Addresses the filing of an initial complaint against
a legislator for violating certain rules and statutes. Requires the commission staff to conduct an investigation of an initial complaint and recommend action to
the commission. Requires the commission to act on an initial complaint. Provides for the filing of a formal complaint against a legislator. Addresses pre-
hearing proceedings after a formal complaint is filed and outlines hearing procedures. Addresses commission deliberations and recommendations. Requires
the commission to forward any recommendation concerning a legislator to the Senate or House of Representatives, respectively. Provides for notifying
certain county attorneys of criminal conduct. [FN: Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel provides staff assistance to the House and Senate
Ethics Committees. To the extent that this bill results in additional work for these two committees, it could create a fiscal impact. It is unknown at this time
what additional requirements for staff time the bill would create. No additional appropriation is needed at this time.]
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HBO0161 Motor Vehicle Insurance Fee CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Larry Wiley Party: D ) SUP SUP -

Creates the Automated License Plate Recognition System Restricted Account. Provides that the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division shall use funds in the
Account to administer an automated license plate recognition system program. Imposes a $.50 annual fee on every vehicle covered under a policy of
insurance purchased to satisfy the owner's or operator's security requirement. Requires insurers issuing insurance policies covering motor vehicle risks to
pay the fees to the State Tax Commission on or before March 31 of each year. Provides that the revenues from the fee shall be deposited into the Account.
Grants the State Tax Commission rulemaking authority to make rules to implement and enforce collection of the fee. The system will provide a computerized
camera mounted on a vehicle or over a highway that recognizes license plates to alert law enforcement to Amber Alerts, stolen vehicles, stolen, revoked or
expired license plates, wanted persons, and other criminal violations. [FN: Will put in place a $0.50 fee on each motor vehicle insurance policy. This could
increase revenue to the Automated License Plate Recognition System Restricted Account by $1,160,000 in FY10 and $1,190,000 in FY11. The revenue to
the restricted account is to be used by the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division to administer an automated license plate recognition system. Four vehicles
would be purchased in FY10 and two vehicles in FY11. Locals could be affected through increase recovery of stolen vehicles.]

HB0163 Property Transaction Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Rebecca Lockhart Party: R ) SUP SUP - S/IC

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Sen. Bramble] Amends the definition of a secondhand business to provide an exemption for regulated metal dealers. Requires
reporting to the database of certain transactions by coin dealers. Modifies the Pawnbroker and Secondhand Merchandise Advisory Board to include a coin
dealer representative. Provides definitions related to the coin dealer business. Provides a criminal penalty (class B midemeanor) for unauthorized release of
databse information. Provides that neither coin delaers nor pawnbrokers are required to hold precious metals or coins as defined. Changes the hold period
for pawnbrokers and secondhand delaers from ten days to 15 days. [FN: Would generate additional revenue to the Gen. Fund of $2,500 in FY10 and $2,500
in FY11l. Commerce Service Fund spending affects the annual transfer to the Gen. Fund. Some businesses may be impacted due to this proposed change in
statute.]

HB0187S03 Recreational Use of Public Waters on Private Property CCJJ USC USAAV LELC ucv UBJJ
( Ben Ferry Party: R ) N/P NP - OPP  ---

Clarifies a provision relating to fencing. Establishes a criminal penalty for: cutting a fence; and violating a provision in a part. Authorizes a person to engage in
certain recreational activities in specified public waters. Authorizes a person in certain circumstances to touch certain private beds beneath specified public
waters. Specifies the public waters on certain private property in which a person may engage in a recreational activity. Creates a Recreational Access Board.
Etablishes membership and duties for the Recreational Access Board. Authorizes the Recreational Access Board to make a rule listing public waters in

which a person may engage in a recreational activity. Establishes procedures for applications to the Recreational Access Board.

HB0198 Marriage License Fee Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Christine Johnson Party: D ) SUP SUP -

[GOV signed 3.23.09] AMEND Requires county clerks to collect an additional $10 for a marriage license fee IF an appicant chooses and to transmit that
amount to the Division of Child and Family Servies for use in the operation of shelters of rvictims of domestic violence. [FN: Could increase appropriations to
the DCFS to be used for the operation of domestic violence shelters. Will require local governments to collect $10 on every marriage license issued. As a
result local revenues could increase by $250,000 annually. However, funds are to be transferred to the DCFS. Individuals will experience a $10 increase in
cost.]
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HB0209 Amendments to Criminal Appeals CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
(' Julie Fisher Party: R ) SUP SUP - PRI SUP -

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Sen. Valentine] Allows the prosecution, as a matter of right, to appeal an order granting a new trial. [FN: will not require additional
appropriations.]

HB0217 Utah Indoor Clean Air Act Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Neil Hansen Party: D ) - OPP - -

Excludes from the smoking prohibition of the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act, a business that receives at least 25% of its annual gross receipts from the on-site
sale of tobacco. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]

HB0219S01 Tobacco Tax Increase CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Paul Ray Party: R ) SUP SUP

Increases the tax rate for the sale, use, storage, or distribution of tobacco products in the state, for the 2009-10 fiscal year, as follows: for cigarettes weighing
not more than three pounds per thousand cigarettes, from 3.475 cents per cigarette to 6.55 cents per cigarette; for cigarettes weighing in excess of three
pounds per thousand cigarettes, from 4.075 cents per cigarette to 7.68 cents per cigarette; for tobacco products, except moist snuff, from 35% to 66% of the
manufacturer's sales price; and for moist snuff, from $.75 to $1.41 per ounce. Sets the tax rate for the sale, use, storage, or distribution of tobacco products
in the state, for each year after the 2009-10 fiscal year, as follows: for cigarettes weighing not more than three pounds per thousand cigarettes, at one-tenth
of one cent above the national average rate, excluding certain tobacco producing states; for cigarettes weighing in excess of three pounds per thousand
cigarettes, at a rate that is 1.173 times higher than the rate described in the preceding paragraph; for tobacco products, except moist snuff, at a percentage
rate that is modified by the percentage change in the rate for cigarettes weighing not more than three pounds per thousand cigarettes; and for moist snuff, at
an amount that is modified by the percentage change described in the preceding paragraph. [FN: increases the tax on cigarettes, moist snuff, and other
tobacco products. This increases revenue to the General Fund by $25,900,000 in FY10. Each year the Economic and Statistical Unit of the Utah State Tax
Commission will calculate the new tax rate based upon the

average tax rate in 44 states and multiplied by a constant. Absent tax changes in other states, this bill increases revenue in FY11 by $30,600,000 in that the
tax changes in FY10 increase the national

average. Local government sales tax revenue will increase by a total of $26,000 in FY10 and $31,000 in FY11. Businesses dealing in tobacco products will
experience a decrease in revenue. Individuals will see the average price per pack increase to the national average in FY10. In FY11, individuals will see the
price per pack increase or decrease depending upon the cigarette tax policy in other states.]

HB0220S02 State Payment and Reimbursement to County Correctional Facilities CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UcCv UBJJ
( Michael Noel Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Sen. Greiner] Requires the Division of Finance to pay counties, for housing state probationary inmates or state parole inmates, at a
rate of 50% of the final state daily incarceration rate. Provides that, on at least a monthly basis, a county must submit a report to the Utah Commission on
Criminal and Juvenile Justice (CCJJ) regarding the housing of state probationary inmates or state parole inmates. Grants rulemaking authority to the CCJJ.
Provides that the Division of Finance shall, on or before December 15 of each year, pay each county for housing state probationary inmates and state parole
inmates, based on the number housed by each county during the state fiscal year that ended on June 30 of the preceding calendar year. Provides for the
distribution of information to, and the discussion of information by, the counties regarding the "actual state daily incarceration rate" and the number of state
probationary inmates and state parole inmates housed by each county.
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HB0221 County Correctional Facilities Funding Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ

( Michael Noel Party: R ) OPP SUP

[Sen. Greiner] Provides that the compensation rate of housing state inmates pursuant to a contract is 70% of the average state daily incarceration rate.
Requires DOC to reimburse a county that houses a state probationary inmate or a state parole inmate at a rate of 50% of the state daily incarceration rate.
Removes provisions relating to the reveiw and modification of the daily incarceration rate by the legislature. Removes certain provisions relating to payment
or reimbursement funds. [FN: will require Gen. Fund appropriations of $14,904,000 in FY10 and $16,656,300 in FY11 to DOC for increased Jalil
Reimbursement and Jail Contracting program costs. Beyond FY11, additional required ongoing Gen. Fund appropriations will likely increase by
approximately $1,850,000 per year.]

HB0223 Statute of Limitations Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Carl Wimmer Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Sen. Madsen] Provides that prosecution for first degree felony child abuse homicide or second degree felony child abuse homicide
may be commenced at any time. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]

HB0228 Assault on Service Member in Uniform CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Eric Hutchings Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.23.09] [Sen. Knudson] Provides a penalty for committing an assault against a military service member in uniform. Provides for minimum
incarceration time and enhanced penalty for committing a second or subsequent offense against a military service member in uniform. Provides that the
court may suspend the imposition or execution of the sentence if the court finds that by doing so the interests of justice would be best served and makes
specific findings concerning the disposition on the record. Provides that the offense does not affect or limit the exercise of any individual's constitutional
rights, including the right of free speech and the right of assembly. Provides that criminal homicide constitutes murder if the actor recklessly causes the death
of a military service member in uniform while in the commission or attempted commission of an assualt against a military service member in unifrom under
Section 76-5-102.4. Provides a definition of "military service member in uniform" [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]

HB0233 Aggravated Sexual Assault Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCvVv UBJJ
( Carl Wimmer Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP  SUP

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Sen. Madsen] Modifies the elements and penalties for the crime of aggravated sexual assault. [FN: Will not require additional
appropriations for at least 20 years after implementation. There may be an impact to DOC and the Board of Pardons beginning FY30, however, the impact is
not quantifiable at this time.]

HB0237S01 Criminal Penalties Amendments - Leaving the Scene of an Accident CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Christopher Herrod Party: R ) SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Sen. Lilienquist] [AMEND] Increases the penalty from a class A misdemeanor to a third degree felony for a person who violates the
requirement to stop the vehicle at the scene of an accident and remain at the scene of the accident until the operator has fulfilled certain requirements if the
accident resulted in injury or death of a person and the person has previously been convicted of certain violations THAT were committed on or after May 12,
2009. [FN: The DOC will require Gen. Fund appropriations of $29,100 in FY12 and $31,500 for FY13 and each fiscal year thereafter. The Courts will require
$2,600 per year from the Gen. Fund beginning FY11.
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HB0239 Utah Medical Examiner Act - Investigation and Autopsies Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCv UBJJ
( Curtis Oda Party: R ) SuUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Sen. Bell] Grants the attorney general or an assistant attorney general the authority to investigate certain deaths. Grants the attorney
general the authority to request an autopsy. [FN: Net $0 fiscal impact. Requires an appropriation of $10,000 ongoing dedicated credits to the Dept. of Health.
The $10,000 comes through an existing fee for additional services provided in the legislation.]

HB0240S01 Wanton Destruction of Livestock CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCv UBJJ
( Ronda Menlove Party: R ) SUP SUP - —

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Sen. Okerlund] Allows a licensed veterinarian to euthanize certain animals under certain cricumstance. Modifies requirements for
reporting estrays. Authorizes Div. Wildlife Resources to capture or cause the death of certain animals under certain circumstances. Establishes penalties for
the wanton destruction of livestock. Provides for the seizure and disposition of property used in the wanton destruction of livestock. [NEW second degree
felony, NEW third degree felony, NEW class A misdemeanor, NEW class B misdemeanor.]

HB0244 Disruption of School Activities CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUCv UBJJ
( Carol Moss Party: D ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP

[Sen. Greiner] Provides that it is a class A misdemeanor to enter onto school property in order to evade law enforcement. Provides that not knowing the
property is school property is not a defense. Requires that the defendant reimburse the school for the costs of responding ot the defendant's presence on
school property. [FN: Will not require additional appropriation.]

HB0244S01 Disruption of School Activities CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Carol Moss Party: D )

[GOV signed 3.25.09]

HB0247 Amendments to Email Information Required of Registered Sex Offende CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCcv UBJJ
( Jim Bird Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP  SUP

[GOV signed 3.23.09] [Sen. Jenkins] Makes amendments addressing the recent federal case Doe v. Shurtleff: (1) provides that the information an offender
subject to registration is required to provide to the registering entity does not include passwords, but does include other online and Internet identifiers as
currently defined in law; (2) provides that an offender's Internet or online identifiers, which must be provided to the registering agency, may not be included in
information on the Sex Offender Registry, which is available to the public; and (3) provides under the GRAMA that information an offender must provide to
the registry and that is not statutorily required to be made available to the public is private, except for use in the investigation and apprehension of offenders
and the enforcement of criminal, civil, and administrative law. Removes the offense of unlawful detention from the definition of a kidnap offender. In response
to a recent Utah Supreme Court case State v. Briggs, removes the requirment that DOC include "a description of the offender's primary and secondary
targets" in the listing of an offender's description and history of offenses on the sex offender registry. [FN: will not require additional appropriations.]
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HB0248S01 Regulating the Use of a Wireless Communication Device While Operat CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCcv UBJJ
( Carol Moss Party: D ) SUP SUP  --- SUP SIC  SUP

Prohibits a person from using a wireless communication device while operating a motor vehicle unless the wireless communication device is designed and
configured to allow for hands-free talking and listening and is used in that manner. Provides exceptions to the wireless communication device prohibition.
Provides that it is an INFRACTION for violating the wireless communication device prohibition and is not a reportable violation and points may not be
assessed.

HB0265 Postmortem Procedures Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Bradley Daw Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Sen. Robles] [AMENDED] Amends the Utah Vital Statistics Act and DOPL Act relating to the signing and filing of a certificate of death,
and the release, transportation, and disposition of a dead body or dead fetus. Makes it a class B misdmeanor for a person to intentionally sign the portion of
a certificate of death that is required to be signed by a funeral service director or a dispositioner, unless the person: (1) is a funeral service director, employed
by a licensed funeral establishment; or (2) is a dispositioner, if a funeral service director is not retained. PROVIDES that a dispositioner may not sign a
certificate of death, unless the signature is witnessed by the state registrar or a local registrar. Requires the state registrar to post information on the state
registrar's website providing instructions to a dispositioner for complying with the requirements of law relating to the dispositioner's responsibilites. [FN:
Requires $4,200 one-time Gen. Fund appropriation in FY09 for programming costs to the Dept. of Health. Some individuals may be required to file a death
certificate within 5 days of a death. Some funeral businesses may be more liable for damages while some individuals may be less liable for damages. Local
health departments may see an increase in responsibility for entering information for death certificates.]

HB0275 Domestic Violence in Presence of a Child Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Kerry Gibson Party: R ) SUP SUP  SUP SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Sen. Dayton] Modifies the offense of committing domestic violence in the presence of a child to provide that if more than one child is
present, a separate offense is committed regarding each child. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]

HBO0276 Custodial Interference Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Carl Wimmer Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

Enacts a modified version of the crime of custodial interference. Provides that custodial interference is: (1) a felony of the third degree, if, during the course
of the custodial interference, the actor removes, causes the removal, or directs the removal of the child from the state; (2) a class A misdemeanor if the third
degree felony provisions described above do not apply and the actor commits custodial interference within three years after the day on which the person was
previously convicted of custodial interference; or (3) a class B misdemeanor if the felony and class A misdemeanor provisions described above do not apply.
Creates an affirmative defense to the crime of custodial interference. [FN: would require an ongoing Gen. Fund appropriation to the Courts of $2,300 for
judicial workload increases. There may be an undetermined amount of cost for individuals found guilty of custodial interference.]
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HB0281 Wireless Communication Device Use Limitations While Operating a Mo CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCv UBJJ
( Paul Ray Party: R ) SUP SUP  --- SUP SIC  SUP

Prohibits a person from using a wireless communication device for text messaging or electronic mail communication while operating a motor vehicle on a
highway in this state. Prohibits a person from using a wireless communication device while operating a motor vehicle in a reduced speed school zone or a
public parking lot unless the wireless communication device is designed and configured to allow for hands-free talking and listening and issued in that
manner. Prohibits a person younger than 18 years of age from using a wireless communication device while operating a motor vehicle on a highway in this
state. Provides exceptions to the wireless communication device prohibitions. Provides that it is an infraction for violating a wireless communication device
prohibition. [FN: Will require $10,000 per year from the Gen. Fund appropriated to the courts beginning FY10. The bill will also generate $13,800 per year in
new Gen. Fund revenue beginning FY10, for a net Gen. Fund increase of $3,800 per year.]

HB0283S01 lllegal Use of Motor Vehicles CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Michael Noel Party: R ) SUP SUP  --- SUP

[Sen. Urquhart] [AMEND] Provides that a person may not tear down, mutilate, deface, or destroy: a sign, signboard, or other notice that regulates off-highway
vehicle use; or a fence, gate, or other enclosure. Provides that a person may not operate or give another person permission to operate a motor vehicle cross-
country on any public land that is closed to motor vehicle cross-country travel WITH exception. Provides penalties and sentencing provisions for violating the
prohibition on operating a motor vehicle cross-country on public land. Provides that a person is guilty of enhanced penalties for unlawful use of a motor
vehicle cross-country on public land or a motor vehicle on private land if: the person violates certain restrictions on the use of a motor vehicle cross-country
on public land or a motor vehicle on private land; and has previously been convicted of the restrictions on use of a motor vehicle cross-country on public land
or a motor vehicle on private land or knowingly, intentionally, or recklessly causes certain damage or harasses wildlife or livestock. Provides penalties and
sentencing provisions for an aggravated unlawful use of a motor vehicle on public or private land conviction. Provides certain exceptions to the motor vehicle
use restrictions. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]

HB0283S02 lllegal Use of Motor Vehicles CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Michael Noel Party: R )

[GOV signed 3.25.09]

HB0284 Smoking Ban in Motor Vehicle CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( F. Seegmiller Party: D ) S/C S/C

Prohibits a person from smoking in a motor vehicle if a child who is younger than eight years of age is restrained or is required to be restrained in a child
restraint device in the motor vehicle. Provides that violating the smoking prohibition is an infraction and has a maximum fine of $45. Provides that a court
may suspend the fine for a violation if the person proves that the person has enrolled in a smoking cessation program. Provides that enforcement of the
smoking prohibition shall be only as a secondary action. Provides that a violation of the smoking prohibition may not be used as a basis for or evidence of
child abuse or neglect.
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HB0290S01 Prohibition of Wireless Communication Device Use in a Motor Vehicl CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Stephen Clark Party: R ) SUP SUP  --- SUP SUP SUP

[Sen. Hillyard] [AMEND] Provides that a person is guilty of careless driving if the person uses a handheld wireless communication device for text messaging
or electronic mail communication while operating a moving motor vehicle. Provides EXCEPTIONS to the handheld wireless communication device
prohibition. [FN: Will require $4,400 per year from the Gen. Fund appropriated to the Courts beginning in FY10. The bill also generates $6,000 per year in
new Gen. Fund revenue beginning FY10, for a net Gen. Fund increase of $1,600 per year. Local governments through Justice Courts adjudications may
benefit.]

HB0290S03 Prohibition of Wireless Communication Device Use in a Motor Vehicl CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Stephen Clark Party: R )

[GOV signed 3.25.09]

HB0292 Traffic Violation and Citation Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Don Ipson Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Sen. Urquhart] Clarifies that a single continuous period of driving for a reckless driving or careless driving violation only covers three
miles or less in total distance. Provides that an operator of a vehicle operating on a roadway divided into two or more clearly marked lanes for traffic may not
move the vehicle from the lane until the movement can be made safely rather than when the operator determines that the movement can be made safely.
Requires the Criminal Investigations and Technical Services Division to include all warrants issued for failure to appear on a traffic citation on the statewide
warrant system. Provides that a prosecution is commenced upon the issuance of a citation. Provides that a person receiving a certain citation shall appear
before a magistrate on or before the date and time specified. Provides that a magistrate may issue a warrant of arrest for a person who fails to comply with
certain citation requirements. Amends the required notice language on a citation issued for a misdemeanor or infraction charge. [FN: Will not require
additional appropriations.]

HB0295 Money Laundering Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Ryan Wilcox Party: R ) SUP SUP  SUP SUP SUP -

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Sen. Liljenquist] Amends the offense of money laundering to avoid state transaction reporting requirements so the offense includes
the laundering of money to avoid federal transaction reporting requirements. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]

HB0298 Juvenile Transfers from Justice Court CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Kay Mclff Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

[Sen. Okerlund] Provides discretion to a justice court judge to transfer a matter concerning a child from justice court to juvenile court. [FN: will require an
ongoing appropriation of $7,600 to the Division of Juvenile Justice Services.]
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HB0313S01 Social Host Liability Act CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ

( Eric Hutchings Party: R ) HOLD  -—--- SUP SIC SUP S/C

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Sen. Mayne] Establishes responsibility related to an underage drinking gathering. Makes certain conduct subject to a citation and civil
penalties, inlcuding recovery of responose costs. Allows for the reservation of legal options. Provides for appeals. [FN: will not require additional
appropriations.]

HB0314 Dna Sample for Criminal Offenses - Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UcCv UBJJ
( Richard Greenwood Party: R ) SUP S/C SUP PRI SUP

[Sen. Greiner] [AMEND] Requires that a DNA specimen shall be obtained from a person convicted of an offense of class B misdemeanor domestic violence
assault in addition to current requirements for felonies and class A misdemeanors. Provides that a DNA specimen is not to be taken from a minor who
commits a class B misdemeanor domestic violence assault offense. Requires a person convicted of a class B misdemeanor domestic violence assault
offense to also pay the fee of $100 for the costs of collecting the DNA specimen. Provides the process for requesting destruction of a specimen. [FN: Will
require DPS to spend $11,500 in FY09 and $69,000 in FY10 and each fiscal year thereafter. DPS believes it can handle these expenditures within existing
resources. The Courts will require $800 in FY09 and $4,800 from the Gen. Fund in FY10 and each fiscal year thereafter. The bill will also generate $16,700
in Restricted Revenue beginning in FY09 and $100,000 in FY10 and each year thereafter.]

HB0316 Time Limitation for Prosecution of Environmental Crimes CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Carl Wimmer Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP  ---

Requires that a prosecution for a violation of Title 19, Environmental Quality Code, shall be commenced within four years after facts constituting the violation
have been reported in writing to a prosecutor having responsibility and jurisdiction to prosecute the offense. [FN: will not require additional appropriations.]

HB0317 Capital Felony Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Carl Wimmer Party: R ) SUP SUP  --- SUP SUP -

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Sen. Madsen] Increases the indeterminate sentence provision regarding a capital felony from 20 years to 25 years. [FN: Will not
require additional appropriations.]

HB0333 Motor Vehicle Impound Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Curtis Oda Party: R ) OPP OPP  --- OPP — —

Provides that any law enforcement officer ordered vehicle impound shall be reported to the Motor Vehicle Division by the peace officer or the agency the
peace officer is employed by. Imposes a $25 fee on all vehicle, vessel, or outboard motor impounds ordered for a violation of certain motor vehicle offenses.
Provides that revenues from the $25 impound fee shall be used by the Division as dedicated credits to pay the costs of providing certain notifications and
regulating state impound yards within the state. Provides that a vehicle is an abandoned vehicle if it is left in an impound yard, garage, or docking area for
more than ten days after certain notices have been provided. Provides that it is a class C misdemeanor to abandon a motor vehicle on public or private
property or in an impound yard, garage, or docking area. Requires the Division to inform the registered owner and lien holder that it is a class C
misdemeanor for a person to leave a motor vehicle for more than ten days in an impound yard, garage, or docking area in the impound notice provided by
the Division. [FN: will increase state revenues by $423,800 in FY10 and $563,100 in FY11 and each fiscal year thereafter. The bill will provide the Division of
Motor Vehicles $420,300 in FY10 and $558,400 in FY11 and each fiscal year thereafter. The Courts will require Gen. Fund appropriations of $10,100 in FY10
and $13,400 in FY11 and each fiscal year thereafter.]
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HB0347S01 Alcoholic Beverage Control Act Modifications CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ

( Gregory Hughes Party: R ) SUP SIC

Amends definitional provisions. Removes requirements related to state labels and markings. Prohibits tampering with a package of an alcoholic beverage.
Provides for electronic verification of proof of age by certain club licensees. Removes restrictions related to election days. Addresses dispensing, storage,
and bar structures for a restaurant. Changes the insurance and liability limits related to dramshop. Establishes requirements for renting or leasing a club
license premises. Makes technical and conforming changes.

HB0352S01 Alcoholic Beverage Related Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCVv UBJJ
( James Dunnigan Party: R ) SUP SUP -

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Sen. Valentine] Provides for conditional licenses for certain retail licenses. Addressess access to information related to a private club
licensee or tavern by an investigator.

HB0362 Government Records Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Gregory Hughes Party: R ) N/P N/P

Corrects a cross-reference. Modifies language to comply with standardized definitions. Provides that intentional and knowing destruction or mutilation of the
record-copy of a record in violation of a retention schedule is a class B misdemeanor. Permits a governmental entity to charge a fee equal to the actual value
of the costs of researching and responding to a records request if the requester has submitted more than 12 requests within a one-year period. Exempts
from the above requirement those requests that are made for a story or report for general publication. Provides cross-references between the Archives and
Records Service chapter and the Government Records Access and Management Act. Clarifies that an employee of a governmental entity may be disciplined
or fired for intentionally and knowingly destroying or mutilating a record in violation of a retention schedule. [FN: will not require additional appropriations.
Local governments may receive a minimal increase in fee revenue and certain individuals may be charged additional records access fees.]

HB0372 Insurance Provisions Regarding Offenders CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCv UBJJ
( Paul Ray Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP  ---

Provides that, if an insured is otherwise eligible for benefits under a policy, an accident and health insurer may not exclude coverage for: an inmate housed
in a correctional facility; or an offender in the custody of the Department of Corrections. Requires that an accident and health insurer coordinate benefits for
an insured who is: an inmate housed in a correctional facility; or an offender in the custody of the DOC. Requires an inmate who has medical or dental
insurance coverage, upon entering into the DOC's custody, to use that coverage as primary payer for medical and dental costs incurred while in the custody
of the DOC. [FN: May avoid future costs for DOC medical services, but there is insufficient data to quantify the amount. Local governments may benefit from
avoided costs.]

HBO0373 Amendments to Department of Corrections' Operations CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Paul Ray Party: R ) N/P NP NP -

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Sen. Greiner] Repeals provisions allowing courts to commit a defendant to the custody of the DOC for a 90-day diagnostic evaluation
prior to sentencing. Removes provisions in the code referring to providing diagnostic evaluations as part of the presentence information prepared for the
sentencing court. [FN: Will reduce ongoing Gen. Fund appropriations of $427,400 and ongoing Crime Victim Reparations Trust Fund appropriations of
$750,000 beginning FY10.]
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HB0376 Revisions to Alcoholic Beverage Control Act CCJJ USC USAAV LELC ucv UBJJ
( Gregory Hughes Party: R ) SUP SUP SUP N/P

Addresses the nature of an adjudicative proceeding as a civil action including the burden of proof and the general applicability of mens rea requirements.
Makes procedural clarifications. Clarifies the application of criminal procedures, principles, and penalties. [FN: will not require additional appropriations.]

HB0384 Public Lewdness Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Don Ipson Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.30.09] [Sen. Urquhart] Increases the penalty for lewdness if the offender has been convicted twice before of lewdness or lewdness involving a
child. Increases the penalty for lewdness involving a child if the offender has been convicted once before of lewdness involving a child. [FN: Will increase
state revenues by $6,800 beginning FY10. The Courts will require an ongoing Gen. Fund appropriation of $18,200 beginning FY10. The DOC will require
Gen. Fund appropriations of $29,100 in FY11 and $58,100 in FY12 and each fiscal year thereafter. Local governments will be impacted by additional
incarceration costs.]

HB0391 Budgetary Procedures Act Revisions CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Ron Bigelow Party: R ) N/P [NV/= -

[GOV signed 3.30.09] [Sen. Hillyard] This bill modifies provisions of the Budgetary Procedures Act including nonlapsing authority for various agencies
including award monies under the Crime Reduction Assistance Program. Clarifies the procedures to be followed when seeking to expend dedicated credits in
excess of the amount appropriated by the Legislature. Clarifies procedures and simplifies timelines relating to the governor's submission of a proposed
budget. Defines the term "work program" and clarifies and modifies the procedures for work program adjustments. Clarifies and makes amendments to the
procedures for approving the transfer of monies between programs. Requires the Division of Finance to audit all claims against the state for which an
appropriation has been made. Creates a preference for purchase card accounts over petty cash funds and provides procedures for approving and reviewing
petty account funds. Provides that the Division of Finance, rather than the governor, review applications and establish petty cash funds. Permits the Division
of Finance to eliminate existing cash funds in favor of a purchasing card account. Requires reports of overexpended line items to be submitted to the Office
of the Legislative Fiscal Analyst in addition to the Board of Examiners. Modifies language related to the governor's obligation to reduce commitments and
expenditures in a deficit situation. Requires that, in the event of a deficiency, state agencies proportionally reduce commitments and expenditures. Removes
any distinction between "fees" and "regulatory fees." Provides that all fees charged by an agency must be submitted to the Legislature and approved in an
appropriations act. Clarifies that an agency must hold a public hearing on establishing or modifying a fee before presenting the fee for legislative review.
Changes the term "college and university funds" to "discrete component unit funds" to comply with currently existing definitions in other sections of the code.
Requires state institutions of higher education to report nonlapsing balances to the Division of Finance by the September 1 following the close of the fiscal
year. Consolidates the listing of all nonlapsing funds and accounts. Requires that an account or fund be expressly referenced as nonlapsing in the Budgetary
Procedures Act in order for the account or fund to be treated as nonlapsing. Requires legislative appropriations subcommittees to review those accounts and
funds that have been granted nonlapsing authority on a yearly basis. Requires each agency to report the balances of any dedicated credits and fixed
collections at the end of each fiscal year. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]
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HB0404S01 Disclosure of Real Property CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Merlynn Newbold Party: R ) SUP PRI SUP  ---

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Sen. Buttars] Requires a real property owner or lessor to disclose in a property transaction that the owner's or lessor's property is
contaminated from methamphetamine use if the owner or lessor has actual knowledge of the contamination. Creates a civil cause of action for failure to
disclose methamphetamine contamination. Allows a real property owner or lessor to decontaminate the owner's or lessor's real property.

HB0437 Obstruction of Natural Resource or Agricultural Production CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Michael Noel Party: R ) SUP SUP -

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Sen. Urquhart] Establishes a criminal penalty (third degree felony) and a fine for obstructing a compteitive process to lease property
for natural resource or agricultural production by placing a bid for a lease with no intent to pay for the lease. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]

HB0455 Court Security Restricted Account CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Eric Hutchings Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Sen. Greiner] Increases the security surcharge in courts of record for criminal convictions and juvenile delinquency judgments.
Increases the security surcharge on all convictions for moving violations and allocates the increase to the Court Security Account created in Section 78A-2-
602. Allows the AOC to use the security surcharge for perimeter security at all court locations. [FN: Will increase the court security fee by $8. This will
increase revenue to the Gen. Fund Restricted Court Security account by approximately $2.8 million annually. Courts will use the funds to contract for security
services at juvenile and district courts. For the rest of FY09, the bill will require one-time revenue and appropriations of $350,000.

HB0456S01 Tobacco Access Restrictions CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Bradley Last Party: R ) SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Sen. Neiderhauser] Amends restrictions on the sale, placement, and display of cigarettes and smokeless tobacco to include cigars
and pipe tobacco. Amends the state supremacy clause regarding sale, placement, and display to include cigarette tobacco and pipe tobacco. [FN: will not
require additional appropriations.]

HCRO002 Healthy Family Partnership Concurrent Resolution CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Curtis Oda Party: R ) SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP

[Sen. Killpack] Encourages the Utah State Board of Education and the Utah State Board of Regents, as resources permit, to ensure that all middle school,
junior high, senior high, and post-secondary education programs in the state provide timely and age appropriate materials on the dangers of family and
dating violence, how to identify the problem, how to get help, and how to provide support for friends or siblings caught in an abusive situation. Encourages
the Dept. of Human Services to ensure, as resources permit, that high risk families receive violence prevention services, which research has shown
significantly reduces the incidence of child abuse and domestic violence while providing the Utah taxpayer with a signficant cost benefit advantage. [FN: will
not require additional appropriations.]
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HJRO27 Criminal Procedure Revisions Resolution CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Wayne Harper Party: R) OPP OoPP - OPP OPP OPP

Requires that a prosecuting attorney obtain a defendant's consent before reducing a misdemeanor charge to an infraction. [FN: Provisions of this bill are
estimated to increase jury trials by 58. The average cost per jury trial for cases covered by this bill is $1,360. The estimated cost to implement provisions of
this bill is $78,800 ongoing form the Gen. Fund beginning in FY10.]

SB0011 Incest Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Dennis Stowell Party: R) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.20.09] Amends the definition of the crime of incest. Increases the statute of limitations for prosecution from four to seven years.[FN: will not
require additional appropriations.]

SB0012 DUl Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Sheldon Killpack Party: R ) SUP SUP PRI SUP SUP -

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Rep. Last] Defines driving under the influence court. Provides that certain reports issued by the Driver License Division (DLD) may not
contain evidence of an impaired driving conviction if the reporting court notifies the DLD that the defendant is participating in or has completed the program of
a driving under the influence court with exception for a CDL license holder or a violation that occurred in a commercial vehicle. Provides that if an impaired
driving conviction is amended to a driving under the influence conviction in certain circumstances, the DLD shall start the applicable suspension or revocation
on the date of the amended conviction and may not subtract any time for which the license was previously suspended or revoked. Requires the DLD to
reinstate a person's driver license prior to completion of a certain 90-day suspension period immediately upon receiving written verification of the person's
conviction of impaired driving if: (1) the written verification is received prior to completion of the suspension period; and (2) the reporting court naotifies the
DLD that the defendant is participating in or has successfully completed the program of a driving under the influence court. [FN: Enactment of this bill
requires $1,000 one-time funding for programming costs.]

SB0016 Prohibited Gang Activity CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Jon Greiner Party: R ) SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.20.09 [Rep. Oda] Provides that a peace officer may order a group to disperse if the group includes persons an officer reasonably believes to
be gang members and is in an area where loitering of groups that include gang members if prohibited by the local law enforcement agency. Requires that the
officer warn the group that failure to disperse is subject to arrest. Requires municipal and county legislative bodies to designate areas in their jurisdictions
where police officers may require groups that include gang members to disperse. Provides that failure to disperse upon the order of an officer is a class B
misdemeanor, and a subsequent failure to disperse is a class B misdemeanor subject to a fine of $100. Provides that if, after being ordered to disperse, a
member of the group loiters again within specified times and at specified places, the person is guilty of a class B misdemeanor and is subject to a fine of
$100. Requires that officers receive training to ensure protection of the constitutional right of collective advocacy. Requires that officers receive training on
identification of gang members and criminal street gangs. (NEW class B misdemeanor.) [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]
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SB0019 Criminal Offense Penalties Amendment CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Jon Greiner Party: R ) SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP

[Rep. Menlove] Provides that the enhanced penalty for committing a crime with other persons applies also if a defendant commits a crime: (1) for the benefit
of, at the direction of, or in association with a criminal street gang; or (2) to gain any benefit in the defendant's relationship to a criminal street gang. Amends
related sections affected by these changes. [FN: Will require ongoing Gen. Fund appropriations of $157,500 to the Courts beginning FY10; approximately
$92,500 ongoing Gen. Fund revenue will also be generated. Net impact to the State is a cost of $65,000 of ongoing Gen. Funds.]

SB0028 Prohibited Activities of Gang Offenders CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Jon Greiner Party: R ) SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Rep. Wimmer] Provides that a person convicted of a crime for which the sentence is enhanced due to the offense being gang-related
may not possess a dangerous weapon, ammunition, or a facsimile of a firearm for five years and that a violation is a class A misdemeanor. Provides that any
greater penalty under another section of the Criminal Code that restricts the possession of a dangerous weapon to a greater degree supersedes the
restrictions of this provision. (NEW class A misdemeanor.) [FN: Will require $25,000 in ongoing Gen. Funds to the courts. Will also generate approximately
$17,500 in Gen. Funds for a net Gen. Fund cost of $8,500 to the State.]

SB0037 Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-violence Coordinating Council Amendm CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UcCv UBJJ
( Kevin Van Tassell Party: R ) SUP PRI

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Rep. Wheatley] Adds the director of the Division of Indian Affairs, or the director's designee, as a voting member of the USAAV
Coordinating Council. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]

SB0051 Restitution Fund Account CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Daniel Liljenquist Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Rep. Ray] Provides that interest earned be distributed pro rata to each crime victim. Requires any leftover monies to be transferred to
the Office of Crime Victims Reparation. Does not prevent an independent judicial authority to collect, hold, or distribute restitution. [FN: Will not require
additional appropriations.]

SB0074 At-risk Student Provisions CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Luz Robles Party: D ) HOLD HOLD HOLD N/P SUP HOLD

Requires a local school board or governing board of a charter school to enact certain gang prevention and intervention policies. [FN: will not require
additional appropriations.]

SB0085 Homicide Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Stephen Urquhart Party: R ) SUP SUP  --- SUP SUP  SUP

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Rep. Ipson] Removes the statutory defense of extreme emotional distress from the aggravated murder and murder statutes, and
places it instead in the special mitigation statute, where extreme emotional distress may reduce the level of a homicide offense. [FN: Will not require
additional appropriations.]
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SB0090 Metal Theft Amendments and Penalties CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Jon Greiner Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Rep. Dee] Defines wire made of regulated metal as a suspect metal if the wire has been burned. Requires that a dealer's purchase of
regulated metal that exceeds $100 may not be paid for in cash. Provides that a defendant is liable for restitution for damages caused during the course of
committing or attempting to commit a theft of regulated metal, and that the victim may also bring a civil action for damages. [FN: Will not require additional
appropriations.]

SB0091 Electronic Communication Harassment Amendment CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCv UBJJ
( Jon Greiner Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Rep. Ray] Defines "adult" as a person 18 years of age and older and "minor" as a person who is younger than 18 years of age.
Expands the offense of electronic communication harassment to include acts intended to cause substantial emotional distress. Modifies the penalties for
electronic communication harassment: (1) by increasing the penalty for repeat offenses; and (2) by providing a greater penalty if the victim is a minor.
Clarifies that electronic harassment may create a civil cause of action if the electronic communications are not made for legitimate business purposes. [FN:
Will require $52,600 per year from the Gen. Fund appropriated to the courts beginning FY10. Will also generate $49,500 per year in new Gen. Fund revenue
beginning FY10 for a net Gen. Fund impact of $3,100 per year. Local governments (Justice Courts) will lose $1,400 annually in revenue.]

SB0098 Motor Fuel Theft Penalties CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Jon Greiner Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP N/P SUP

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Rep. Noel] Creates the separate theft offense of theft of motor vehicle fuel from a retail business if the fuel is removed with the intent
to deprive the business of the fuel without full payment. Provides that, in addition to the penalties for theft in Section 76-6-412, the person's driver license
shall be suspended for a conviction of theft of motor vehicle fuel: (1) 60 days for a first offense; (2) six months for a second offense; and (3) one year for a
third or subsequent offense. Requires that the Driver License Division suspend a person's driver license upon receiving notice from a court that the person
has been convicted of a theft offense under Section 76-6-404.7. [FN: Will require $3,000 one-time funding for programming costs which can be covered with
existing agency resources.]

SB0101 State Ethics Commission CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Scott McCoy Party: D ) HOLD HOLD --- HOLD

This bill establishes a State Ethics Commission. In addition to the membership and duties of the commission, the bill provides that a frivolous complaint filed
with the Commission is a third degree felony. A complaint filed under this chapter is frivolous if (a) the complaint is filed with the commission; (b)(i) the
complaint is returned by the commission under Section 63G-12-301 because it does not meet the requirements of that section; (ii) the commission votes to
take no action on the complaint at the preliminary review meeting; or (iii) the commission determines that the complaint is unsubstantiated; and (c) the
complaint is determined by a two-thirds vote of the commission to be filed primarily for the purpose of harassing the respondent. [FN: Will require $159,100
ongoing to fund 1.5 FTE to staff the commission with associated salary, benefits, and related expenses and $5,000 one-time in FYQ9 to acquire furnishings
and equipment for the staff.]
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SB0107S01 Communications and Mortgage Fraud Penalty Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCVv UBJJ
( David Hinkins Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Rep. Seelig] Modifies the penalties for communications fraud AND MORTGAGE FRAUD by removing the provision regarding
obtaining or attempting to obtain something that does not have monetary value. [FN: will not require additional appropriations.]

SB0112 Obstruction of Justice Amendment CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Ralph Okerlund Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Rep. Seelig] Includes as obstruction of justice the act of advising a person of the existence of an order for a wiretap, or the pending
application for a wiretap. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]

SB0116S01 Criminal Penalty Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Daniel Liljenquist Party: R ) SUP SUP PRI SUP SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Rep. Oda] Provides that the definition of a conviction, for purposes of certain driving under the influence provisions, only includes
convictions arising from a separate episode of driving. Clarifies that a person is guilty of a separate offense for each victim suffering bodily injury, serious
bodily injury, or death as a result of the person's violation of the DUI or automobile homicide provisions whether or not the injuries arise from the same
episode of driving. Clarifies that a person is guilty of a separate offense for each victim suffering serious bodily injury or death as a result of the person's
violation of the prohibition on driving a vehicle in a negligent manner and having a measurable amount of a controlled substance in the person's body
whether or not the injuries arise from the same episode of driving. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]

SB0118 Parental Responsibility for Juvenile Criminal Gang Offense Costs CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Jon Greiner Party: R ) SIC SIC  SIC SUP SIC  SIC

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Rep. Greenwood] Requires a parent or guardian who has legal custody of a minor to be liable for damages, including graffiti
damages, sustained to property not to exceed $5,000 in costs when the minor participates in criminal activity that causes property damage and is done: (1)
for the benefit of, at the direction of, or in association with any criminal street gang; or (2) to gain recognition, acceptance, membership, or increased status
with a criminal street gang. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations. Parents or legal guardians of minors may be held financially responsible for up to
$5,000 for criminal property damage caused by them.]
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SB0131S02 Law Enforcement Service in Local Districts and Interlocal Entities CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Scott Jenkins Party: R ) SUP N/P

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Rep. Greenwood] Replaces "extended police protection" with "law enforcement service" in the list of services that a local district may
be created to provide. Eliminates the requirement to submit the creation of a local district to voters for their approval if the local district is created to provide
law enforcement service. Requires county and municipal legislative body approval of a property tax imposed by a police local district. Requires counties and
municipalities participating in a police local district to reduce their certified tax rate to offset a tax levied by the district. Modifies who appoints one member of
a merit system commission for a first class county in which a police local district or police interlocal entity is created. Expands an exception as to how the
board of trustees of a service area is to be constituted to include a service area created to provide law enforcement service. Modifies a provision relating to
the duties of a sheriff in a first class county that enters into an interlocal agreement for law enforcement services and expands it to apply to all counties.
Requires interlocal agreements between a county and one or more municipalities for law enforcement service to require the service to be provided by or
under the direction of the county sheriff. Specifies that if a police interlocal entity or police local district enters an interlocal agreement for law enforcement
service, the sheriff is not the chief executive officer of any entity created under that agreement, unless the agreement so provides, and that the sheriff
provides law enforcement service under that agreement as provided in the agreement. Provides that a sheriff is the chief law enforcement officer of a local
district or interlocal entity created to provide law enforcement service and is subject to the direction of the local district board or interlocal entity governing
body as provided by agreement. Limits application of some provisions to districts in counties of the first class. Expands certain local district annexation and
withdrawal provisions to apply to specified local districts that provide law enforcement service. Repeals a provision relating to a first class county entering an
interlocal agreement for law enforcement service.

SB0132S01 Individual Income Tax Contribution for Methamphetamine Housing Rec CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UcCv UBJJ
( Karen Mayne Party: D ) SUP SUP -

[Rep. Seelig] Enacts the Methamphetamine Housing Reconstruction and Rehabilitation Fund Act. Creates a restricted account known as the
Methamphetamine Housing Reconstruction and Rehabilitation Fund (Fund). Enacts an individual income tax contribution for the Fund for the taxable year
beginning on or after January 1, 2009, but beginning on or before December 31, 2009. Provides that monies received from the income tax contribution shall
be deposited into the Fund and expended by a qualified housing organization to: reconstruct or rehabilitate residences contaminated by methamphetamine;
or purchase property upon which a residence contaminated by methamphetamine is reconstructed or rehabilitated. Grants rulemaking authority to the
Division of Housing and Community Development. [FN: Creates the Methamphetamine Housing Reconstruction and Rehabilitation Fund. The account is
funded by contributions made on an individual income tax return. The expected amount of contributions is $50,000 in FY10.]

SB0133 Abuse or Neglect of a Disabled Child CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCVv UBJJ
( John Valentine Party: R ) SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP S/C

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Rep. Sandstrom] Provides that a caretaker who intentionally, knowingly, recklessly, or with criminal negligence abuses or neglects a
disabled child is guilty of a third degree felony. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]
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SB0142 Disposition of a Dead Body CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Allen Christensen Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP -

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Rep Daw] Makes it a class B misdemeanor to engage in any conduct that makes a dead body unavailable for postmortem
investigation, unless, before engaging in that conduct, the person obtains a permit from the medical examiner. States that the provisions and penalties for the
crime of "abuse or desecration of a dead human body" supercede the provisions and penalties for the crime described in this bill. Enacts provisions relating
to the application, granting, and denial of an application for a permit to render a dead body unavailable for postmortem investigation. Provides that the
medical examiner may charge a fee to recover the costs of fulfilling the duties described in this bill. [FN: The legislation has a net $0 fiscal impact. The
legislation requires an appropriation of $87,000 ongoing Dedicated Credits to the Depart. of Health. The $87,000 comes through a new fee for additional
services provided in the legislation. The new fee comes as a charge to funeral home businesses, which may be passed on to individuals.]

SB0147S01 Driver License Revisions CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Lyle Hillyard Party: R ) SUP SUP SUP SUP N/P SUP

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Rep. Mclff] Provides that the Driver License Division may extend to a person a limited driving privilege to and from the person's place
of employment when the person's original denial, suspension, revocation, or disqualification involved certain driving under the influence offenses if: (1) the
person has had the period of the first denial, suspension, revocation, or disqualification extended for a period of at least three years; (2) the Division receives
written verification from the person's primary care physician that to the physician's knowledge the person has not used any narcotic drug or other controlled
substance except as prescribed by a licensed medical practitioner within the last three years; and (3) for a period of one year prior to the date of the request
for a limited driving privilege the person has not been convicted of a violation of any motor vehicle law in which the person was the operator of the vehicle or
the Division has not received a report of an arrest for a violation of any motor vehicle law or a report of an accident in which the person was involved as an
operator of the vehicle. Provides that the discretionary privilege authorized is limited to when the limited privilege is necessary for the person to commute to
school or work and may be granted only once during certain periods. [FN: will not require additional appropriations.]

SB0149S01 Prohibition of Text Messaging or Electronic Mail Communication Whi CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Lyle Hillyard Party: R ) SIC HOLD -- SUP SIC  SIC

[Rep. Mclff] Prohibits a person from using a handheld wireless communication device for text messaging or electronic mail communication while operating a
moving motor vehicle on a highway in this state. Provides exceptions to the handheld wireless communication device prohibition. Provides penalties for
violating the prohibition on using a handheld wireless communication device for text messaging or electronic mail communication while operating a moving
motor vehicle. Provides that criminal homicide is automobile homicide if a person operates a moving vehicle in a negligent or criminally negligent manner
causing the death of another and was using a handheld wireless communication device for text messaging or electronic mail communication at the time of
operation. Provides penalties for automobile homicide in certain circumstances. Provides that a judge may order that a person's driver license be suspended
for three months upon conviction for a violation of the prohibition on using a handheld wireless communication device for text messaging or electronic mail
communication while operating a moving motor vehicle. Requires the Driver License Division to immediately revoke, deny, suspend, or disqualify a person's
license upon receiving a record of the person's conviction of automobile homicide while using a handheld wireless communication device for text messaging
or electronic mail communication. [FN: Corrections and the Board of Pardons will require Gen. Funds of $29,700 in FY09 and $59,400 in FY10. Costs to
Corrections and the Board will increase by $29,700 annually in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 and will stabilize at $133,800 in FY14 and each fiscal year
thereafter. The Courts will require $7,000 ongoing Gen. Funds beginning in FY10. The Department of Public Safety will spend $3,000 one-time Restricted
Funds for programming which can be handled within the Department's existing budget. The bill will generate $7,200 per year in new Gen. Fund revenue
beginning FY10.]
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SB0154 Juvenile Court Judge - Fifth District CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCVv UBJJ
( Stephen Urquhart Party: R ) SUP SUP

[Rep. Ipson] Increases the number of juvenile court judges in the fifth judicial district to three. [FN: will add a new Juvenile Court judge, two clerks, and a new
attorney. The bill will require $305,200 in ongoing Gen. Funds for the courts and $142,400 for the Attorney General's office in FY10 for a total impact of
$447,200 of ongoing Gen. Funds.]

SB0165S01 Statute of Limitation Revisions CCJJ USC USAAV LELC ucv UBJJ
( Mark Madsen Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP  ---

[GOV signed 3.23.09] [Rep. Wimmer] Requires that if the statute of limitations for a prosecution of fraud or breach of fiduciary obligation has expired it may
begin to run again if when a report of the offense is made to a law enforcement agency and the prosecution of the offense is commenced within one year of
the report.

SB0168 Alcoholic Beverage Control Act - Hours Restrictions CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Scott McCoy Party: D ) OPP

Modifies provisions related to hour restrictions and restaurant licensees. Modifies provisions related to hour restrictions and limited restaurant licensees. [FN:
Will not require additional appropriations. Some additional yet undeterminable profit and sales tax may occur as result of longer restaurant hours.]

SB0169 Gambling Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Daniel Liljenquist Party: R ) SUP SUP - PRI SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.30.09] [Rep. Aagard] Includes the offense of "fringe gambling" as a criminal gambling offense. [FN: May impact the Courts, however it is
unquantifiable at this time.]

SB0170 Judiciary Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
(' Lyle Hillyard Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP -

[GOV signed 3.23.09] [Rep. Mclff] Adds the crime of domestic violence to the list of offenses ineligible for diversion. Clarifies when justice court judges will
stand for retention election. Requires courts to transmit certain orders to law enforcement agencies electronically. Removes references to a pilot program
that has been repealed. Clarifies that, in a stepparent adoption, the rights of the parent married to the stepparent are not terminated. Repeals the statute on
admissibility of out of court statements of child sexual abuse victims because it is covered by court rule. [FN: will not require additional appropriations.]

SB0180S01 Expungement of Division of Child and Family Services Records CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Lyle Hillyard Party: R ) HOLD HOLD HOLD N/P HOLD

[GOV signed 3.23.09] [Rep. Fowlke] Clarifies that records under the control of state agencies may be expunged. [WATCH] [FN: will not require additional
appropriations.]
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SB0181 Criminal Prosecution Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCv UBJJ
( Daniel Liljenquist Party: R ) SUP SUP  SUP SUP SUP -

Provides that the standard for a de novo review in district court on a pretrial order excluding evidence in a justice court for an infraction or class C
misdemeanor is that the prosecutor certifies that exclusion of the evidence prevents continued prosecution. Provides that the standard for a de novo review
in district court on a pretrial order excluding evidence in a justice court for a class B misdemeanor is that the prosecutor certifies that exclusion of the
evidence impairs continued prosecution. Provides that a notice of appeal for a hearing de novo in the district court on a pretrial order excluding evidence
shall be filed within 30 days of the order excluding the evidence. [FN: Will require $9,200 for increased court costs. Local governments (Justice Courts) will
have increased costs and off-setting fine revenues.]

SB0182 Criminal Restitution Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( Curtis Bramble Party: R ) SUP SUP - SUP SUP

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Rep. Lockhart] Provides that there is no statute of limitations on criminal restitution orders. Provides that the victim shall be entitled to
recover collection fees if the defendant fails to obey a court order for payment of restitution. Provides that payment in full of a restitution order includes the
payment of any applicable collection fees, attorney fees, and interest. Provides that the expiration date of criminal restitution orders applies to all restitution
judgments that are not paid in full on or before May 12, 2009. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]

SB0183 Violation of Protective Order CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Scott McCoy Party: D ) OPP OoPP - SUP OPP OPP

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Rep. Fowlke] [AMEND] Provides a respondent the basis for dismissing the protective order if a petitioner repeatedly acts in
contravention of the protective order provisions. Requires the court approved forms for all protective orders to contain a notice to petitioner that acting in
contravention of the protective order provisions may be grounds for amending or dismissing the protective order. [FN: Will require an ongoing Gen. Fund
appropriation of $12,400 to the Courts to process requests for protective order dismissals.]

SB0184S01 Civil Filing Fees CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Uucv uBJJ
( Gregory Bell Party: R ) SuP - SuUP

[GOV signed 3.23.09] [Rep. Fowlke] Increases several civil filing fees of courts of record.
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SB0187S01 Alcohol Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCV UBJJ
( John Valentine Party: R ) SupP

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Rep. Hughes] Amends definitional provisions. Removes requirements related to state labels and markings. Prohibits tampering with a
package of an alcoholic beverage. Addresses the nature of an adjudicative proceeding as a civil action including the burden of proof and the general
applicability of mens rea requirements. Makes procedural clarifications for administrative actions. Provides for electronic verification of proof of age by certain
club licensees. Removes restrictions related to election days. Addresses quotas. Addresses proximity for a restaurant liquor or limited restaurant license.
Addresses dispensing, storage, and bar structures for a restaurant. Changes the insurance and liability limits related to dramshop. Modifies the definition of a
"convention center" and provides for limited grandfathering. Creates a resort license including: defining terms; providing for licensing, including the creation of
sublicenses; establishing a resort spa sublicense; imposing operational requirements for a resort license; addressing the application of operational
requirements to a sublicense; providing for enforcement with relation to a resort license or a sublicense; addressing the application of the Nuisance Licensee
Act to a resort license or sublicense; providing for the enforcement of criminal penalties; and expanding protections for employees to encompass employees
of a resort licensee. Establishes requirements for renting or leasing a club license premises. Clarifies the application of criminal procedures, principles, and
penalties. Addresses training requirements for law enforcement officers. Expands licenses subject to protections for employees who exercise judgment.
Provides for a study of penalties related to minors.

SB0193 Salvage Vehicles Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Stephen Urquhart Party: R ) HOLD HOLD ---

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Rep. Dee] [AMEND] Provides that a person may offer for sale, sell, or exchange a vehicle with a salvage certificate at or through a
motor vehicle auction to: an out-of-state or out-of-country purchaser that is authorized to do business in the domestic or foreign jurisdiction in which the
person is domiciled or registered to do business; and an in-state purchaser that is registered to do business in Utah and has a Utah sales and use tax
license. Provides that AN operator of a motor vehicle AUCTION may only offer for sale, sell, or exchange five vehicles with salvage certificates at or through
a motor vehicle auction IN ANY 12 month period to an in-state purchaser that does not have a salvage vehicle buyer license. Provides that a purchaser of a
vehicle with a salvage certificate shall title the vehicle within 15 days of the purchase if the purchaser does not have a salvage vehicle buyer license. Provides
that a person may not offer for sale, sell, or exchange additional vehicles with a salvage certificate to a purchaser if notified that the purchaser has not titled
previously purchased vehicles with a salvage certificate. Requires an operator of a motor vehicle auction to: keep a record of the sale of each salvage
vehicle; retain the record of the sale of each salvage vehicle for five years and make it available for inspection by the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division;
and stamp "For Export Only" on the vehicle title if the buyer is an out-of-country buyer. Provides that a person who violates the requirement to title a vehicle
with a salvage certificate within 15 days of purchasing the vehicle at a motor vehicle auction is guilty of a class C misdemeanor. Provides that a person who
violates the requirement to title a vehicle with a salvage certificate within 15 days of purchasing the vehicle at a motor vehicle auction is subject to certain civil
penalties. [FN: Could decrease dedicated credits revenue to the Tax Commission by $30,000 in FY10 and $30,500 in FY11 through the elimination of
licensing requirements. This bill may increase revenue to the Gen. Fund through enforcement of the requirement for individuals to title certain vehicles.]

SB0195 Public Employee Defined Contribution Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCv UBJJ
( Daniel Liljenquist Party: R ) HOLD

FYI: [AMEND] Suspends, for the period of July 1, 2009 through June 30, 2010 only, ONE HALF of the 1.5% employer defined contribution made on behalf of
those employees in the Public Employees' Noncontributory Retirement System. Provides that certain employees who elected to move from the contributory
retirement system to the noncontributory retirement system and who have remained in that system are not subject to the suspension of payments. [FN:
Enactment of this bill would yield a one-time savings of approximately $12,925,500 from various funds as shown in the table. Of that savings, $11,506,000 is
in the General and Education funds.]
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SB0202 Drug Offender Reform Act Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Lyle Hillyard Party: R )

[GOV signed 3.25.09] Requires the Utah Substance Abuse and Anti-Violence USAAV) Coordinating Council to coordinate the implementation of provisions
of the Drug Offender Reform Act (DORA) in specified areas as funding allows. Provides that the USAAV Coordinating Council is to designate which local
substance abuse authorities are to receive funding to implement DORA. Provides that on and after July 1, 2009, offenders who are convicted of a felony
offense in courts located within the designated local substance abuse authority areas shall participate in a substance abuse screening as funding allows,
may participate in an assessment if indicated, and may also participate in substance abuse treatment if indicated. Deletes the provisions requiring screening
and assessment prior to parole. Requires annual progress reports to the Legislature regarding the implementation, impact, and results of the DORA. [THIS
BILL RECEIVED TEXT AFTER THE FINAL MEETING OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEES — THEREFORE NO POSITIONS WERE TAKEN]

SB0220 Cohabitant Abuse Procedures Act Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Brent Goodfellow Party: D ) SIC siIC - SUP SUP  ---

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Rep. Mclff] Permits a court to issue an order to a person awaiting trial on a crime of domestic violence at the time that the charge is
filed instead of at the time that the person is released from custody. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]

SB0228S01 Prohibition on Internet or Mail-order Sales of Tobacco Products CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UcCv UBJJ
( Margaret Dayton Party: R ) SuUP SUP SIC

[GOV signed 3.25.09] [Rep. Daw] [AMEND] Makes it a violation to cause tobacco products OR CIGARETTES to be ordered or purchased through the
Internet or by mail. Establishes civil penalties for a violation of the prohibition against mail order or Interent tobacco sales. [FN: The Courts will incur costs
and the attorney general will generate revenues in prosecuting and adjudicating cases, but no estimates can be made due to insufficient data.]

SB0243 Judicial Performance Evaluation Commission Modifications CCJJ USC USAAV LELC ucv UBJJ
( D. Buttars Party: R ) SuP SuUP

[GOV signed 3.24.09] [Rep. Oda] Changes the time of performance evaluations for justices of the supreme court from the third, sixth, and ninth year of the
justice's term to the third, seventh, and ninth year of the justice's term. Exempts attorneys from the requirement of being surveyed within 30 days of the day
their case is closed. Allows attorneys to be surveyed at any time during the survey period. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations.]

SB0271S01 Judicial Conduct Commission Amendments CCJJ USC USAAV LELC uUcv UBJJ
( Gene Davis Party: D ) N/P N/P

[GOV signed 3.20.09] [Rep. Hendrickson] If the Senate Judicial Confirmation Committee requests Judicial Conduct Commission records, the commission
shall disclose the information to the Committee if the chair of the Senate Confirmation Committee certifies in writing that the committeee will limit the
disclosure of any information received to the minimum amount necessary to allow the Senate to evaluate the candidate's fitness for office.
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SJR0O12 Joint Resolution Supporting Expansion of Correctional Facilities i CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UCvVv UBJJ
( David Hinkins Party: R ) SUP SUP  ---

[Rep. Watkins] Supports jail expansion as beneficial to both the state and to San Juan County. Recognizes that SJR 101, passed during the 2007 First
Special Session of the Utah Legislature and approving 80 beds in Garfield County, is now void. [FN: Will not require additional appropriations. Future
appropriations will be required if the state contracts beds from the county. If San Juan County issues bonds to build a correctional facility, a fiscal impact willl
be realized by the county.]

SJR014 Joint Resolution - Challenging the Legality of a Conviction or Sen CCJJ USC USAAV LELC UcCv UBJJ
( Curtis Bramble Party: R ) SUP SUP - PRI SUP -

[Rep. Garn] Proposes to amend the Utah Constitution to provide that, following a direct appeal, a person may challenge the legality of the conviction or
sentence only as provided by statute; and provide that a person may not be barred from obtaining relief from a conviction or sentence under certain
circumstances. [FN: Publication and distribution costs to put this resolution on the ballot will require a one-time FY11 appropriation of $14,700 from the Gen.
Fund.]

SJR021 Joint Resolution on Combating and Reducing Gang Activity CCJJ USC USAAV LELC Ucv UBJJ
( Luz Robles Party: D ) SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP SUP

Urges state and local governments to take a comprehensive, collaborative, and communitywide approach to combat and reduce gang activity. [FN: Will not
require additional appropriations.]
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